Parenting in Partnership with the Holy Spirit

Being a Mom of 3 little boys can be very adventurous, exciting, fun, very cute and at the same time be a test of your patience. It can also be very tiring and sometimes feel like everything is on the tip of chaos.

After each day you stare at those gorgeous angel faces and you fall in love all over again….

Wanting the best for my kiddos – made me sit with my nose in many parenting books….. I loved it, it helped me in understanding them better and I knew how to handle situations more accurately and with patience. I am also a firm believer that my boys should be able to go out with me on shopping errands in order to learn how to behave in public, what I disliked a lot was people with their opinions when on those outings. I would get:

” Aaaaah enjoy them. Small children = small problems. Big children = big problems.” Or

” Enjoy them while they are small…You know children these are not like they use to be like in the olden days. Good luck. Teenagers these days!”

Before I knew it I spoke: “Maybe it’s because parents are not yielding to the Holy Spirit and listening to His guidance in terms of their children’s lives.” The lady turned around and walked off as if I said something rude towards her. I promised myself to think twice before speaking…..but did not regret thinking that this is the very truth!

2 Years ago we attended a 9 week free course at a Church cell called: The New Superman. I have been a born again Christian since the age of 15, but there at The New Superman, Pastor Johan and Pastor Zelda taught myself and my husband about the Holy Spirit and that the Holy Spirit is a vital partner in your life. You need His guidance in everything. A gift given from God.

Acts 1 verse 4 and 5:

“Do not leave Jerusalem, but wait for the gift my Father promised, which you have heard me speak about. For John baptized with water, but in a few days you will be baptized with the Holy Spirit.”

John 14 verse 26 and 27:

“But the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you. Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you.”

John 16 verse 14:

“But when he, the Spirit of truth, comes, he will guide you into all the truth.”

Learning about this, reading about the Holy Spirit in my Bible made me very, very, very excited. God knows my children inside out! He knows what is best for them and what to avoid in life. He will be able to lead me in each of my boy’s life dicissions and on how to uplift them in life. How to see the gifts and talents given to them and then helping them embracing and developing it. How to work with their uniqueness and respect their personalities in order for me to raise Kings in the Kingdom of God! We have advantage! We have a very big and significant gift! The Holy Spirit! We will have a victorious life no matter how circumstances look like there in the outside world.

I mean that makes me jump up and down everytime! With every child comes his or her unique personality and challenges. For example – You cannot discipline them all the same. My oldest one you can just look at with warning eyes and the tears stream down his face and that’s enough for him. He is sorry for whatever he did and he will not do that again. My second oldest needs 2 warnings and at times the physical warning on his bum before he registers that this is a no go zone. (We will wait and see what my baby boy is like in terms of discipline and testing boundaries.) You can trust in the Holy Spirit to lead you even in how to disspiline each child correctly.

Psalm 139 vers 13 to 16: “ For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.
My frame was not hidden from you
when I was made in the secret place,
when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
Your eyes saw my unformed body;
all the days ordained for me were written in your book
before one of them came to be.”

Trusting in God for protection over myself, my husband and my children together with the guidance of His Spirit can only ensure that I raise wonderful and successful men who will live victorious in this world with its failing systems, a world driven by fear. We will stand fearless!

Join me in this journey where I will share what the Holy Spirit has taught me and what He wants me to share about marriage, parenting and living a life for God in victory and honouring Him in all we do.

“The choice is ours – do we want the wisdom of this age or ageless wisdom?” – Lisa Bevere

1 thought on “Parenting in Partnership with the Holy Spirit”

  1. Thank you for your boldness in writing about this topic. I will surely enjoy every post you make💟.
    How to live this life God has given us is vital for us in order to be able to overcome!!

    Like

Leave a comment